The Country Living Grain Mill is a hand mill, and why an electric-mill index carries it

What this section establishes

  • The Country Living Grain Mill is supplied as a hand-cranked mill: a wooden handle threads into a 12-inch aircraft aluminum flywheel, and no motor is supplied with it.
  • Electric operation requires a second purchase — the Country Living motorization kit, or the 1/9 horsepower gear-reduced motor on its own — and the warranty page states the warranty is voided if the mill is motorized by anything other than the kit manufactured by Country Living Products.
  • The mill grinds between two opposed high-carbon steel burr plates, one fixed and held by three screws, one rotating on the drive shaft, rather than in an impact chamber.

The Country Living Grain Mill is a hand-cranked mill, and this publication indexes electric ones. It appears here for one reason: the manufacturer publishes a factory route to electric drive, sells the parts for that route, and writes the route into its warranty. The mill sits on the boundary of the category rather than outside it, and the boundary is worth naming precisely, because that is where most confusion about this model begins.

As supplied, the mill has no motor. The manufacturer’s homepage describes it as “the most rugged manual grinder on the market today”, and the owner’s manual treats power as a possibility rather than a fitting: “Your grain mill is designed to be easily motorized.” Electric operation requires a second purchase — either the complete motorization kit or the 1/9 horsepower gear-reduced motor on its own — and the warranty page states the warranty is voided if the mill “is motorized by anything other than the kit manufactured by Country Living Products”. A mill that becomes electric only through a sanctioned second transaction is a materially different buying decision from a mill that arrives plugged in, and Manual vs electric grain mills sets out that decision in full.

The second boundary is mechanical, and it runs the other way across the category. The Country Living Grain Mill mills between two opposed burr plates: a fixed plate and a rotating plate, with grain fed between them by an auger. A burr is a grinding surface whose separation from its opposite number the operator sets directly; an impact mill instead uses a chamber that shatters grain. This mill’s burrs are high-carbon steel rather than stone, which changes what it permits, how it is cleaned and what wears out. That mechanism choice sits prior to the hand-versus-motor question and is set out at Impact vs stone burr grain mills.

Nothing on this page comes from handling the mill. Every figure below is read off the manufacturer’s product page, owner’s manual, warranty page, accessory pages or its own labeled dimension drawing. Where those documents disagree with one another — and on this model they disagree in four separate places — both readings are printed rather than reconciled.

Impact, stone and steel burr mills, in section, with the Country Living marked
An impact chamber, a pair of stone burrs and a pair of opposed steel plates, drawn at the site's own line weight. Two dimensions appear, because two are published: the KoMo Fidibus Classic's Ø 85 mm millstone and the WonderMill's 3.5 in grinding burr. No maker of a steel-burr mill here publishes a plate diameter, so that panel carries none.

How the Country Living Grain Mill is built: cast aluminum body, high-carbon steel burrs

The housing is cast metal, not molded plastic. The product page lists “Solid I-beam construction from cast aircraft aluminum”, a “Stainless steel shaft” and an “FDA approved, food-grade powder coating”, and the manufacturer’s own dimension photograph shows “MADE IN USA” cast into the side of the housing beneath a raised Country Living logo. The product page also carries “MADE IN THE USA” in bold at the top of its description, and the company gives its address as Country Living Products, 14727 56th Ave. NW, Stanwood, WA 98292.

Inside, the manufacturer’s “A Look Inside” page names the grinding assembly part by part, in this order:

The drive shaft runs on two ball bearings rather than a bushing. The “A Look Inside” page states: “Many grinders use only one large bushing, but the Country Living Mill has two sealed ball bearings spaced apart* which increases the stability of the drive shaft and reduces bearing strain.” The same page calls them industrial-grade; the product page calls them “Double sealed agricultural-grade bearings”. The bearing count and the spacing are consistent across both pages; the grade wording is not, and that inconsistency is recorded below with the other documentation conflicts.

The grinding surfaces are “High-carbon steel grinding plates”, and the feed is a “Stainless steel spring auger designed for small grains”. A larger auger, “cast from stainless steel”, is sold separately for corn, beans and coffee. The flywheel is a “12-inch Custom American-Made aircraft aluminum flywheel compatible with 1/2" v-belt for motorization or pedal power”, and the owner’s manual adds that it “is grooved for use with a standard ½\” A or V belt”. The flywheel is therefore both the hand-drive and the power take-off, which is why one component decides how the mill behaves in both modes.

  • A. The Fixed Burr or Plate, held into position by three screws
  • B. The Rotating Burr or Plate, locked to the drive shaft by a key
  • C. The Adjustment Knob
  • D. The Grain Auger
  • E. The Short Key
  • F. Four Washers
Every material and component the Country Living Grain Mill’s construction is documented with, and the manufacturer page each was read from.
ComponentWhat Country Living statesDocumentRead from
HousingSolid I-beam construction from cast aircraft aluminum, with an FDA approved, food-grade powder coatingProduct page — The Country Living Grain Millcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Grinding platesHigh-carbon steel grinding platesProduct page — The Country Living Grain Millcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Drive shaftStainless steel shaftProduct page — The Country Living Grain Millcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
BearingsTwo sealed ball bearings spaced apart, in place of the single large bushing the page says many grinders use; described as industrial-grade on this pageA Look Inside — the grinding mechanismcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Flywheel12-inch Custom American-Made aircraft aluminum flywheel, compatible with a 1/2 inch v-belt for motorization or pedal powerProduct page — The Country Living Grain Millcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Standard augerStainless steel spring auger designed for small grainsProduct page — The Country Living Grain Millcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Large auger, sold separatelyCast from stainless steel, and named by the manufacturer for corn, beans and coffeeThe Corn & Bean Large Auger product pagecountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Country of manufactureMADE IN USA cast into the side of the housing beneath the raised Country Living logoLabeled dimension drawing published in the product gallerycountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Net weightNot stated in any document read. The store listing carries an unqualified 16 lbs weight field that is not identified as the mill’s own weight rather than its packed weight.—Not stated in any document read for this page.

Materials and components only. The bearing grade is worded differently on a second Country Living page and is recorded below with the other documentation conflicts. No throughput figure, decibel rating or micron output is published for this mill, so none of them can be added as a row.

Mounting and hand operation: 5/16 inch bolts, and a handle that threads into the flywheel

The mill requires a mounted base before it is turned. The owner’s manual states: “The mill must be securely mounted to a solid base before attempting to operate. For best results the mounting surface should be attached to either the wall or floor. The mill base is pre-drilled to be easily bolted or lagged to a surface permanently with 5/16\” bolts.” The same page gives an alternative for people who cannot drill into a counter — the mill can be clamped to a solid work surface with the Country Living Counter Clamp.

That requirement is the practical difference between this mill and every countertop electric in the index. An electric mill is set down and switched on; this one has to be attached to something that will not walk across a kitchen while a 12-inch flywheel is being turned. The base footprint is small — the manufacturer’s drawing labels it 5 5/8 in wide and 3 3/4 in deep — so the load path runs into whatever the mill is fixed to, and the strength of the installation is the strength of that surface rather than of the mill. The manual extends the requirement past the mill itself: “For best results the mounting surface should be attached to either the wall or floor.” Beyond the 5/16\” bolt size, the fixing is undocumented — the manual states no hole count, no hole spacing, no torque figure and no minimum thickness for the surface being drilled — so the only published numbers a buyer can plan an installation against are the base at 5 5/8 in by 3 3/4 in, the mill at 13 1/2 in high, and the 12-inch flywheel turning above it.

The crank itself is a handle assembly that threads into the flywheel. The owner’s manual states that “The handle assembly threads into the hole located in the outside edge of the flywheel”, and, in its motorization instructions, “Always remove wooden handle from flywheel before motorizing mill”. A hand mill and a motorized mill are therefore the same machine in two configurations, with the handle as the part that moves between them.

The manufacturer does not state how much effort a given grain requires, how many flywheel turns produce a cup of flour, or how long a batch takes by hand. Those are the numbers a manual buyer most wants and the ones the documentation is silent on. What the manual does state, in the adjustment section, is the working rhythm: “After each small adjustment, turn the flywheel 2 to 3 times and check the product for desired consistency.”

The Country Living motorization kit and the 1/9 horsepower gear-reduced motor

What this section establishes

  • The Country Living motorization kit is stated to include a pre-drilled and threaded baseboard, gear-reduced motor with pulley, belt, belt guard and all necessary hardware, and the same page states the Country Living Grain Mill itself is sold separately.
  • The optional motor is published as a 1/9 horsepower gear-reduced unit and nothing further: no wattage, voltage, amperage or frequency appears on the motor page, the kit page or the motorization support page.
  • Fitting any drive other than the Country Living kit is stated to void the warranty, while the owner’s manual separately states the mill is designed to be easily motorized through the flywheel’s 1/2 inch A or V belt groove.

The manufacturer sells two products that turn the mill into an electric one, and the warranty recognizes only one of them as a complete solution. The kit page states: “The motorization kit includes everything you need to motorize your Country Living Mill: pre-drilled and threaded baseboard, gear-reduced motor with pulley, belt and belt guard, and all the necessary hardware.” The same page states plainly that the mill itself is not part of the kit: “Country Living Grain Mill sold separately.”

The motor can also be bought on its own. Its page is titled “1/9 Horsepower Grain Mill Reduced Gear Motor” and states: “This is the same motor which we use on our own motorization kits. It is already geared down to run your Country Living Grain Mill at its recommended speed, so the do-it-yourselfer won’t have to mess with intermediate pulleys. A wired power cord with inline switch is included.” That is the whole electrical specification the manufacturer publishes. No wattage, no voltage, no amperage and no frequency appear on the motor page, the kit page or the motorization support page. A horsepower figure can be converted arithmetically into watts, but a converted number is not a manufacturer specification and is not printed here as one.

The warranty makes the choice of motor a warranty question rather than a preference. The warranty page states the warranty is voided if the mill “is motorized by anything other than the kit manufactured by Country Living Products”, and the owner’s manual repeats the point. At the same time, the mill is openly designed for improvisation: the manual states “Your grain mill is designed to be easily motorized. The flywheel is grooved for use with a standard ½\” A or V belt. We advise using a gear-reduced motor that will drive the mill at 75 rpm’s or less.” Both statements are the manufacturer’s own. Read together, they say that a home-built drive is mechanically anticipated and contractually excluded, and a buyer weighing a DIY belt drive is trading a lifetime parts warranty for it.

On noise, the manufacturer publishes a description rather than a measurement. The motorization support page states of the kit: “It’s quiet (you can actually have a conversation standing next to it), and the grind is very cool.” That is a manufacturer claim about the motorized configuration, not a decibel figure, and no decibel figure appears on any manufacturer page reviewed for either the hand-cranked or the motorized mill.

Speed is the binding constraint: 120 rpm maximum, under 75 rpm optimal

What this section establishes

  • 120 rpm is the absolute maximum flywheel speed Country Living states for this mill, and the same page states the mill performs optimally at revolutions of less than 75 per minute.
  • The owner’s manual turns that ceiling into a purchasing rule: a gear-reduced motor that will drive the mill at 75 rpm’s or less, through the flywheel’s 1/2 inch A or V belt groove.
  • The manufacturer describes its own kit’s speed two ways — a steady 65 rpm on the kit product page, and about 65 to 75 rpm on the motorization support page.

The mill publishes a hard speed ceiling, and it is low. The motorization support page states: “120 is the absolute maximum RPM for the Country Living Grain Mill. Through long experience, we have discovered that our mill performs optimally at revolutions of less than 75 per minute.” The owner’s manual gives the same instruction as a purchasing rule: “We advise using a gear-reduced motor that will drive the mill at 75 rpm’s or less.”

Those two numbers are what actually governs a motorization project. The flywheel is 12 inches in diameter and takes a 1/2 inch A or V belt, so any drive train has to reduce a standard motor’s output to a flywheel speed under 120 rpm, and preferably under 75. That is why the manufacturer’s own motor is described as “already geared down to run your Country Living Grain Mill at its recommended speed, so the do-it-yourselfer won’t have to mess with intermediate pulleys”. The reduction, not the horsepower, is the part that is difficult to source.

The manufacturer states two different figures for what its own kit achieves. The kit product page states: “The motor kit grinds at a steady 65 rpm pace that keeps the flour cool to reduce the loss of nutritional enzymes.” The motorization support page states: “With this kit, your mill turns at about 65 to 75 rpm to ensure a cool grind for all your flours.” Both are recorded below rather than averaged.

The link the manufacturer draws between low speed and cool flour is a manufacturer claim. No flour temperature is published in degrees, no enzyme or nutrient retention figure is published, and no comparison against a faster mill is published. The mill’s speed ceiling is documented; the consequences the manufacturer attributes to it are stated, not measured.

Texture adjustment and the factory calibration procedure

Texture adjusts through a threaded knob on the front of the mill that sets the gap between the fixed and rotating burrs. The owner’s manual states: “If the flour produced from this setting is not the consistency desired, it can be varied by the adjustment knob on the front of the mill. Tightening the knob will produce a finer grind. Loosening it will produce a coarse grind or \”cracked\” grain for cereals. Most adjustments should require only a slight turn of the knob. After each small adjustment, turn the flywheel 2 to 3 times and check the product for desired consistency.” The knob face is marked COARSE and FINE, legible in the manufacturer’s own dimension photograph.

The manufacturer also publishes the procedure it uses at the factory, which is more useful than the marked range because it tells an owner which direction to approach a setting from: “We begin by tightening the adjustment knob until the plates are rubbing all the way around, then we pour in the grain and grind. It is much easier to begin at a finer setting and adjust out to a coarser setting.” Starting tight and opening up is the manufacturer’s own method, and it is the opposite of how most people instinctively approach an adjustment.

The claimed range is a single sentence on the product page: “Adjustable output; from cracked wheat to pastry flour in one pass”. That is the entire published span, and it is worth reading exactly as written — it claims pastry-fine flour in one pass, not a micron figure. No numbered detents, no micron scale, no particle-size distribution and no count of discrete settings appear on any source. A threaded knob turned in slight increments has no published setting count to quote, so a buyer comparing this mill against models that publish numbered settings is comparing a documented number against an undocumented one, not a coarser control against a finer one.

The finest setting is bounded by a mechanical warning rather than a scale. The factory procedure describes tightening “until the plates are rubbing all the way around” as a calibration reference point, and the mill’s other standing prohibition — never running it without grain — means metal-on-metal contact under load is not a state the manufacturer wants sustained.

The calibration order the owner’s manual gives, in the manufacturer’s own sequence

  1. Tighten the adjustment knob until the plates rub all the way aroundThe factory procedure opens by tightening the knob until the plates are rubbing all the way around. That contact point is the reference every later setting is taken from, not a setting to grind at.
  2. Load the grain, then grindThe procedure states the grain is poured in and ground only after the knob has been brought to that reference point, which sits alongside the mill’s standing instruction never to operate without grain in the hopper.
  3. Adjust outward toward coarser, not inward from coarseThe manual states it is much easier to begin at a finer setting and adjust out to a coarser setting. Approaching a target texture from the fine side is the manufacturer’s own direction of travel, and the opposite of how most people approach an adjustment.
  4. Turn the flywheel 2 to 3 times after each small adjustmentThe manual states most adjustments should require only a slight turn of the knob, and that the flywheel is turned 2 to 3 times after each small adjustment before the product is checked for the desired consistency.

Hopper capacity: 4 1/2 cups standard, nearly 11 cups with the extension

What this section establishes

  • The standard hopper holds 4 1/2 cups, a figure the mill’s own product page never states — it is published only on the accessory page for the hopper extension.
  • The optional hopper extension raises capacity to nearly 11 cups, and the manufacturer states it is designed especially for those with motorized mills, which is a fair signal that the standard hopper is sized to hand cranking.
  • No flour container is included with the mill. The 8-cup polymer bin that fits under the hopper is a separately sold accessory, so catch-container capacity is an accessory specification on this model rather than a product one.

The standard hopper holds 4 1/2 cups, and that figure appears in an unexpected place. The mill’s own product page never states hopper capacity; the number is published only on the accessory page for the hopper extension, which states: “It more than doubles the capacity of the existing hopper from 4 1/2 cups to nearly 11 cups.” The extension raises hopper capacity to nearly 11 cups — the manufacturer’s own hedge, preserved here rather than rounded — and the same page states it “is designed especially for those of you with motorized mills”, which is a fair signal that the standard hopper is sized to how long a person can reasonably crank rather than to how long a motor can run.

No flour container is listed among the mill’s inclusions. The manufacturer sells an 8-cup bin as a separate accessory: “This beautiful, clear bin with etched wheat pattern is designed to fit snugly underneath your Country Living Grain Mill hopper. After grinding, simply place the protective lid on the Country Living Bin for perfect storage of your freshly ground flour. This attractive bin has an 8-cup capacity!” Flour container capacity is therefore an accessory specification on this model, not a product one, and a buyer comparing catch-container sizes across mills should treat this row as optional equipment.

Throughput is not published at all. The manufacturer states no cups per minute, no pounds per hour and no batch time, for either the hand-cranked or the motorized configuration. That absence is consistent — a hand mill’s rate is set by the operator, and the motorized rate would follow from a flywheel speed the manufacturer itself states two ways — but it means the two capacity numbers above cannot be turned into a time. Hopper capacity here answers how much grain can be loaded before reloading, not how much flour arrives per hour.

A hopper measured in cups is the manual buyer’s unit, and it is not directly comparable to the hopper on a mill that empties itself at its own pace while the operator does something else. NutriMill Classic Grain Mill carries the published figures for the electric side of that comparison. On this mill the hopper level is an operating constraint rather than a convenience: the owner’s manual states “DO NOT operate the mill without grain in the hopper”, and the warranty page lists a mill “run without grain in the hopper” among its voiding conditions. A 4 1/2 cup hopper is therefore something to watch rather than to fill and walk away from, and the nearly 11 cups of the extension buys a longer interval between refills rather than a faster grind. The two published capacity figures also do not convert into one another: 4 1/2 cups is a volume of grain loaded and the optional bin’s 8 cups is a volume of flour caught, and the manufacturer states no ratio between the two.

What the Country Living Grain Mill can and cannot grind

Ingredient scope on this model is scattered across six manufacturer pages rather than stated in one list, and the pieces do not all carry the same force. Some are mechanical limits, some are performance cautions, and two are warranty terms. The owner’s manual sets the general rule: “For flour, use only hard, dry beans or grains.”

The manufacturer permits, in its own words:

The manufacturer excludes, again in its own words:

Two commonly repeated restrictions do not hold up against the sources. The first concerns corn: the Corn & Bean Auger page states that “Soft varieties of corn, or corn with a soft or chalky interior tends to clog and grind poorly”, which is a performance caution about a grain type, not a prohibition and not a warranty term. The second concerns the auger itself: the product page states only that the standard auger is “designed for small grains” and that the large auger for dry corn or dry beans “is sold separately”. It does not state that corn cannot be milled without the large auger. The honest reading is that the large auger is the manufacturer’s recommended tooling for corn and beans, not a documented precondition.

No maximum grain moisture percentage is specified for the mill itself. The owner’s manual’s figures — wheat with “moisture content ... 10% or less” and “12% or higher protein content” — are storage guidance for the grain, not an input limit for the machine. The manufacturer also states that it test-grinds wheat in every mill before shipping and will substitute an alternate grain such as rice on request for gluten-intolerant buyers, which is a handling detail worth knowing for anyone who needs the mill to arrive free of gluten-containing residue.

  • Permitted — hard, dry grains and beans as the general rule, stated in the owner’s manual
  • Permitted — wheat, which the manufacturer states it test-grinds in every mill before shipping
  • Permitted — rice, quinoa, corn, millet, teff, amaranth and buckwheat, the gluten-free grains the manufacturer’s homepage names
  • Permitted — dry corn and dry beans, with the separately sold Corn & Bean Auger, which the manufacturer describes as cast from stainless steel
  • Permitted — coffee, named alongside corn and beans on the Corn & Bean Auger page
  • Permitted — soft oily nuts, specifically “peanuts, cashews, pecans and walnuts”, with the separately sold Peanut Butter+Plus accessory that replaces the grinding plates; the manufacturer states the mill converts back “to a grain grinder at any time, by reinstalling the grinding plates”
  • Excluded — wet, moist or soft grain: “This mill is not intended to grind wet, moist, or soft grain”, and “Moist or soft beans or grains will cause clogging”
  • Excluded — running the mill empty: “DO NOT operate the mill without grain in the hopper”, and in capitals, “NEVER ALLOW THE MILL TO OPERATE WITHOUT GRAIN BEING PROCESSED”; the warranty page also makes running without grain in the hopper a voiding condition
  • Excluded — grain soaked with an ash or slaked lime solution: the warranty page states the warranty is void if the mill is used to grind it
  • Excluded — almonds through the Peanut Butter+Plus accessory: “It is not intended for almonds”
  • Excluded — excessive moisture on plates or bearings: “DO NOT get excessive moisture on plates or bearings”
  • Excluded — commercial use, which the warranty page lists as a voiding condition rather than a mechanical limit

The Country Living Grain Mill warranty: lifetime on the mill, one year on the plates

What this section establishes

  • The Country Living Grain Mill is warrantied for the lifetime of the original owner including all parts, excluding the finish; the grinding plates are carved out and warrantied for one (1) year from the original date of purchase.
  • The warranty is stated void if the mill is used in any way other than recommended, is motorized by anything other than the Country Living kit, is run without grain in the hopper, is used commercially, or is used to grind grain soaked with an ash or slaked lime solution.
  • Coverage is not transferable and applies only to United States and Canadian sales, and the Warranty Registration Card must be completed within fifteen (15) days from receipt of the mill.

The headline term is a lifetime warranty with two carve-outs. The warranty page states: “Country Living Products warrants this Country Living Grain Mill to be free from defects in material and workmanship under NORMAL USE and conditions for the lifetime of the original owner which includes all parts, excluding the finish.” The finish is excluded by that sentence. The grinding plates are excluded from the lifetime term by a separate one: “The grinding plates are warrantied for a period of one (1) year from the original date of purchase.”

The voiding conditions are unusually specific for a kitchen appliance and are worth reading before a purchase rather than after a failure. The warranty page states it is voided “if the mill is used in any way other than recommended, is motorized by anything other than the kit manufactured by Country Living Products, run without grain in the hopper, or used commercially”, and separately that “Warranty is void if the mill is used to grind grain soaked with an ash or slaked lime solution.” Three of those five conditions are things an owner could do without realizing they had done anything unusual: fitting a salvaged motor, letting the hopper run dry at the end of a batch, or milling for a farmers-market side income.

Coverage is bounded geographically and by owner. The warranty page states: “This warranty is not transferable and applies only to United States and Canadian sales.” A lifetime-of-the-original-owner term that does not transfer means the warranty has no resale value, which matters for a mill marketed on durability and bought to outlast its first owner.

Registration is time-limited and the clock starts on delivery. The warranty page states: “The Warranty Registration Card must be completed online or mailed to Country Living Products, 14727 56th Ave. NW, Stanwood, Washington 98292, within fifteen (15) days from receipt of the mill.” The page also states that proof of purchase must be on file when service is requested. Fifteen days is short enough that a mill bought as a gift, or stored unopened for a preparedness stock, can fall out of coverage before it is ever assembled.

Cleaning, and why steel burrs change the routine

The mill disassembles without tools beyond the supplied wrench. The owner’s manual states: “The mill is easily disassembled for cleaning by removing the adjustment knob and sliding the front plate off the shaft.” That is the same knob that sets texture, so cleaning resets the adjustment and the factory procedure — tighten until the plates rub, then open outward — is the route back to a known setting afterwards.

Water is the constraint. The manual states: “The mill housing is not designed to be submerged during cleaning. A slightly damp cloth should suffice for cleaning the housing and its parts. If the grinding plates or bearings get wet, they should be dried immediately to prevent rusting.” A separate instruction in the manual is blunter: “DO NOT get excessive moisture on plates or bearings.”

High-carbon steel burrs are what make that guidance load-bearing rather than boilerplate. A steel grinding surface can rust; the powder-coated aluminum housing around it is a different material with a different tolerance for moisture, and the sealed bearings are a third. The published routine is therefore dry-first: wipe rather than wash, and dry immediately if anything does get wet. The general routine across mill types, including the models where washing is permitted, is set out at Cleaning and maintaining a grain mill.

The manufacturer publishes no cleaning interval, no cleaning tool beyond the damp cloth and the supplied wrench, and no procedure for clearing a clog. Given that moist or soft grain is stated to cause clogging, the absence of a documented clearing procedure is a gap a buyer should expect to fill from the disassembly instruction above.

Where the manufacturer's documentation conflicts with itself

Four attributes on this mill carry two different manufacturer values, and one carries three different descriptions. None of these are third-party disagreements — every value below is published by Country Living Products on its own site. They are recorded rather than resolved, because a primary source cannot be adjudicated against another primary source from the same publisher without inventing a tiebreaker.

Motorized operating speed. The kit product page states “The motor kit grinds at a steady 65 rpm pace”. The motorization support page states “your mill turns at about 65 to 75 rpm”. The two are compatible in the sense that 65 falls inside 65 to 75, but they are not the same claim: one is a fixed figure, the other a range whose top is at the manufacturer’s own stated optimum boundary of “less than 75 per minute”. A buyer sizing a pulley should design to the range, not the point value.

Grinding-plate warranty term. The warranty page states “The grinding plates are warrantied for a period of one (1) year from the original date of purchase” and, in its returns section, “Experience has shown that the grinding plates will last at least 4-5 years with regular use”. The product page’s asterisk states something different again: the lifetime warranty “includes all parts, except the grinding plates which are a wear item. Grinding plate longevity will vary depending on usage, but you can expect them to easily last for several years with daily home use.” The product page states no plate warranty term at all. The operative contractual figure is the one year on the warranty page; the four-to-five-year and several-year statements are expectations of service life, which is a different thing from a warranty and should not be read as one.

Dimensions. The product page’s store information table states “Dimensions | 10 x 13 x 15 in”. The manufacturer’s own labeled dimension drawing states “Mill Height 13 1/2\””, “Mill Width 5 5/8\”” and “Mill Depth 9 1/2\” with Flywheel”, with a base of 5 5/8 in by 3 3/4 in and a flywheel of 12 in. Those two sets cannot both describe the same object: a mill 5 5/8 in wide does not have a 10 in dimension. The listing figures are consistent with a carton, but neither source labels them as shipping dimensions, so that reading cannot be confirmed from the manufacturer’s own pages. The drawing is the more specific of the two and is the one used for the size row in the specification table; the listing figures are printed alongside it rather than discarded.

Weight. The same store table states “Weight | 16 lbs”, unqualified. Whether that is the mill’s own weight or its packaged shipping weight is not stated, and no net weight appears anywhere else. Because the dimension field on the same table appears to describe packaging, the weight field on it should be treated with the same caution.

Bearing description. Three phrasings appear across two pages: the “A Look Inside” page states “two sealed ball bearings spaced apart” and calls them industrial-grade; the product page lists “Double sealed agricultural-grade bearings”. Industrial-grade and agricultural-grade are not synonyms, and “sealed” and “double sealed” are not the same specification. What both pages agree on is the count and the spacing: two bearings, set apart on the shaft, in place of a single bushing.

Attribute by attribute, where Country Living’s own documents state different values — and, in two rows, where a single document states a figure it never qualifies — printed side by side rather than reconciled.
AttributeWhat the document statesDocumentRead from
Motorized speed with the manufacturer’s kitThe motor kit grinds at a steady 65 rpm paceMotorization kit product pagecountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Motorized speed with the manufacturer’s kitWith this kit, your mill turns at about 65 to 75 rpmMotorizing Your Grain Mill support pagecountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Grinding-plate warranty term (stated on the warranty page, absent from the product page)The grinding plates are warrantied for a period of one (1) year from the original date of purchaseWarranty and return policycountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Grinding-plate service lifeExperience has shown that the grinding plates will last at least 4-5 years with regular useWarranty and return policy, returns sectioncountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Grinding-plate service lifeA wear item, expected to easily last for several years with daily home use, with no warranty term statedProduct page asteriskcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Mill dimensionsMill Height 13 1/2 in, Mill Width 5 5/8 in, Mill Depth 9 1/2 in with Flywheel, Base Width 5 5/8 in, Base Depth 3 3/4 in, Flywheel Diameter 12 inLabeled dimension drawing published in the product gallerycountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Mill dimensionsDimensions 10 x 13 x 15 in, in the store information table, with no label identifying them as packagingProduct page, Additional information tablecountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Weight (one document, unqualified)Weight 16 lbs, in the same store information table, unqualified as to net or packagedProduct page, Additional information tablecountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Bearing descriptionTwo sealed ball bearings spaced apart, described on this page as industrial-gradeA Look Inside — the grinding mechanismcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Bearing descriptionDouble sealed agricultural-grade bearingsProduct pagecountrylivinggrainmills.com product page

No row here is a third-party disagreement; every value is Country Living’s own. Two rows are single-source rather than a pair: the weight field is unqualified as to net or packaged, and the plate warranty term is stated on the warranty page and stated nowhere on the product page. Where a pair sets a warranty term against a life expectation, the contractual figure is the one (1) year on the warranty page. Where it sets one measurement against another, the labeled drawing is the more specific of the two, and neither source labels the 10 x 13 x 15 in figures as shipping dimensions, so that reading cannot be confirmed from the manufacturer’s own pages.

What the Country Living documents do not establish: throughput, flour temperature, decibels, watts

This page is built from published documentation. The mill has not been handled, cranked, motorized, mounted or measured here, and no sentence above should be read as a report of use. Everything stated is what a specific manufacturer page states, quoted or paraphrased with its source attached.

Performance figures are absent from the manufacturer’s documentation and are therefore absent here. No milling throughput is published in cups per minute or pounds per hour, in either configuration. No flour temperature is published in degrees, despite the manufacturer’s repeated claim that low speed keeps the flour cool. No micron output, particle-size distribution or sieve result is published. No nutrient or enzyme retention figure is published, despite the enzyme claim on the kit page. No plate-life measurement is published — only the two differing expectations recorded in the conflicts section. No decibel figure appears on any manufacturer page reviewed, for the hand mill or the kit; the only noise statement is the qualitative claim that a conversation is possible beside the running motorized mill.

Electrical specifications for the optional motor stop at “1/9 Horsepower”. No wattage, voltage, amperage or frequency is published on the motor page, the kit page or the support page. A horsepower-to-watts conversion is arithmetic, not documentation, and no converted figure is presented here as a manufacturer specification.

Several identity and effort figures are also unstated. No model or part number distinct from the product name is published — the store lists only “SKU: 101". No net weight is separately stated. No crank effort, turns-per-cup or batch time is published for hand operation. No maximum grain moisture percentage is specified for the mill, only storage guidance for wheat. No count of discrete texture settings exists to quote, because the adjustment is a continuously threaded knob marked at its extremes rather than a detented dial.

Customer reviews published on the manufacturer’s own product pages were read and deliberately excluded. They are user claims about individual units, not manufacturer specifications, and they include statements — about motor noise, about grinding rates — that contradict the manufacturer’s marketing copy. Neither side of that contradiction is a measurement, so neither is treated as evidence here.

Is the Country Living Grain Mill an electric grain mill?

No. As supplied it is a hand-cranked mill with a wooden handle threaded into a 12-inch flywheel, and the manufacturer’s homepage describes it as “the most rugged manual grinder on the market today”. It becomes an electric mill only after a separate purchase: either the complete motorization kit, which includes a pre-drilled and threaded baseboard, gear-reduced motor with pulley, belt, belt guard and hardware, or the 1/9 horsepower gear-reduced motor on its own for an owner building their own mounting.

It is covered in an index of electric mills because that motorization path is published, supported and warranty-recognized by the manufacturer rather than improvised by owners. If the requirement is a mill that arrives ready to plug in, the comparison to run first is at Manual vs electric grain mills.

Does motorizing the mill void the warranty?

It depends entirely on whose motor is fitted. The warranty page states the warranty is voided if the mill “is motorized by anything other than the kit manufactured by Country Living Products”. Fitting the manufacturer’s own kit is therefore within the warranty; fitting a salvaged, third-party or home-built drive is stated to void it, even if the drive respects every speed limit the manufacturer publishes.

This sits alongside the manufacturer’s own encouragement to improvise. The owner’s manual states that the mill “is designed to be easily motorized”, that the flywheel “is grooved for use with a standard ½\” A or V belt”, and advises “a gear-reduced motor that will drive the mill at 75 rpm’s or less”. Both positions are the manufacturer’s. A DIY drive is mechanically anticipated and contractually excluded, and the trade a buyer is making is a lifetime parts warranty against the cost of the sanctioned motor.

How long do the grinding plates last?

The manufacturer publishes an expectation, not a measurement, and it publishes it two different ways. The warranty page states “Experience has shown that the grinding plates will last at least 4-5 years with regular use”. The product page states the plates are “a wear item” and that “you can expect them to easily last for several years with daily home use”. Neither figure is a tested life, and no methodology, grain type or hours-of-use basis is given for either.

The contractual figure is different from both. The warranty page states “The grinding plates are warrantied for a period of one (1) year from the original date of purchase”, so the plates sit outside the lifetime term that covers the rest of the mill. A buyer planning for off-grid use should treat replacement plates as a consumable to stock rather than a part covered for the life of the machine.

Can the mill grind corn, beans, coffee or nut butter?

Corn, beans and coffee are all named by the manufacturer, with a tooling recommendation attached. The standard auger is a “stainless steel spring auger designed for small grains”, and a larger auger “cast from stainless steel” is sold separately with the instruction to “use the large auger to mill corn, beans, and coffee. To use, simply replace the standard spring auger with this larger auger.” The manufacturer does not state that corn cannot be milled without the large auger; it states that the large auger is what corn, beans and coffee are for. The one caution it does publish is about the grain rather than the machine: “Soft varieties of corn, or corn with a soft or chalky interior tends to clog and grind poorly.”

Nut butter requires a different accessory and a different set of parts. The Peanut Butter+Plus attachment replaces the grinding plates, and the manufacturer states it “is intended for soft oily nuts such as peanuts, cashews, pecans and walnuts” and that “It is not intended for almonds.” The mill converts back “to a grain grinder at any time, by reinstalling the grinding plates”, so nut butter and flour are two configurations rather than two simultaneous capabilities.

Across all of these, the manufacturer’s general rule still governs: “For flour, use only hard, dry beans or grains.” Wet, moist or soft grain is excluded by the product page, and the manual warns that “Moist or soft beans or grains will cause clogging.”

Every published figure, with the document it came from

Every row this maker publishes for this mill, printed as its own document prints it, with the document named beside it.

Country Living Grain Mill: published specifications and their documents
AttributeAs publishedRead from
Milling mechanismOpposed burr plates — one fixed plate held by three screws, one rotating plate on the drive shaft, fed by an augercountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
MotorNone supplied — hand-cranked; no wattage, voltage or amperage is statedcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Optional motor1/9 horsepower gear-reduced motor, sold separately; wattage and voltage not statedcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Hopper capacity4 1/2 cups standard; nearly 11 cups with the optional hopper extensioncountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Flour container capacityNot included; optional 8-cup polymer bin sold separatelycountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Texture adjustmentThreaded knob setting the burr gap, knob face marked COARSE and FINE; no detents or micron scale statedcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Dimensions13 1/2 in high, 5 5/8 in wide, 9 1/2 in deep with flywheel on the manufacturer's labeled drawing; the store listing field instead gives 10 x 13 x 15 incountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Weight16 lbs in the store's weight field; whether that is net or packaged is not statedcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Burr materialHigh-carbon steel grinding platescountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
HousingSolid I-beam construction from cast aircraft aluminum with FDA-approved food-grade powder coatingcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
WarrantyLifetime of the original owner on all parts excluding the finish; grinding plates one yearcountrylivinggrainmills.com product page
Country of manufactureUnited Statescountrylivinggrainmills.com product page

This mill against the other eight

The catalogue reduced to five columns and grouped by the mechanism each maker's own documents describe. This mill keeps its place in the order.

Nine mills, grouped by documented mechanism. Every figure is printed as its maker prints it.
MillMechanismMotorHopperWarranty
Impact — the grain is shattered against steel heads, there is no gap to setTwo mills · 1,200 to 1,250 W
NutriMill Classic Grain MillRead from NutriMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)View NutriMill Classic on AmazonHigh-speed impact chamber with stainless steel Microburst milling heads1200 W, 10 amps12 cups 13 cups5 years parts and plastics; limited lifetime on motor and milling heads; original noncommercial purchaser only
WonderMill Electric Grain MillRead from Pleasant Hill Grain dealer specifications · WonderMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)View WonderMill Electric at UnsiftedImpact; two fin-studded stainless steel plates, one rotating1250 W LG Electronics motor (manufacturer states)8 cups (wheat)Lifetime on milling heads to the original owner; six years on all other parts
Stone burr — the grain is ground between two corundum discs you can moveFour mills · 360 to 600 W
Mockmill 100 Stone Grain MillRead from Mockmill product pageView Mockmill 100 at Mockmill USACorundum ceramic grinding stones360 W1,100 g | 2 lbs 7 oz (wheat)6 years, non-commercial use
KoMo Fidibus Classic Grain MillRead from KoMo product pageView KoMo Fidibus Classic at Pleasant Hill GrainStone burr; infinitely adjustable, self-sharpening, made of premium corundum ceramic360 wattsApprox. 1,000 g of wheat12 years on household grain mills
Mockmill 200 Stone Grain MillRead from Mockmill product pageView Mockmill 200 at Mockmill USACorundum ceramic grinding stones600 W1,100 g | 2 lbs 7 oz (wheat)6-year warranty for non-commercial use
NutriMill Harvest Grain MillRead from NutriMill product page · NutriMill technical illustrationView NutriMill Harvest on AmazonCorundum stone burrs, upper and lower450 watts5 cups5 years against manufacturing defects in materials and workmanship
Steel burr — the grain is ground between steel platesThree mills · one at 1,500 W, two with no motor of their own
Country Living Grain Mill — this pageRead from Country Living product pageView Country Living Grain Mill on AmazonOpposed burr plates — one fixed plate held by three screws, one rotating plate on the drive shaft, fed by an auger—4 1/2 cups standard; nearly 11 cups with the optional hopper extensionLifetime of the original owner on all parts excluding the finish; grinding plates one year
KitchenAid All Metal Grain Mill AttachmentRead from Owner manual (PDF)View KitchenAid grain mill attachment on AmazonMetal burr: a grind worm drives the grinding action and a movable burr grinds whole grains into flour——One-year full warranty from date of purchase with hassle-free replacement, for the 50 United States and the District of Columbia; limited one-year warranty in Puerto Rico
VEVOR Electric Grain Mill Grinder MFS-140Read from Owner manual (PDF) · VEVOR product listingView VEVOR MFS-140 at VEVOROne stationary and one moving grinding plate, supplied as a dry-grinding pair and a wet-grinding pair1500 W—12-month standard manufacturer's warranty, from VEVOR's site-wide policy rather than the product listing
  1. Impact — the grain is shattered against steel heads, there is no gap to set

    Two mills · 1,200 to 1,250 W

    1. NutriMill Classic Grain Mill

      Read from NutriMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)

      View NutriMill Classic on Amazon
      Mechanism
      High-speed impact chamber with stainless steel Microburst milling heads
      Motor
      1200 W, 10 amps
      Hopper
      12 cups 13 cups
      Warranty
      5 years parts and plastics; limited lifetime on motor and milling heads; original noncommercial purchaser only
    2. WonderMill Electric Grain Mill

      Read from Pleasant Hill Grain dealer specifications · WonderMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)

      View WonderMill Electric at Unsifted
      Mechanism
      Impact; two fin-studded stainless steel plates, one rotating
      Motor
      1250 W LG Electronics motor (manufacturer states)
      Hopper
      8 cups (wheat)
      Warranty
      Lifetime on milling heads to the original owner; six years on all other parts
  2. Stone burr — the grain is ground between two corundum discs you can move

    Four mills · 360 to 600 W

    1. Mockmill 100 Stone Grain Mill

      Read from Mockmill product page

      View Mockmill 100 at Mockmill USA
      Mechanism
      Corundum ceramic grinding stones
      Motor
      360 W
      Hopper
      1,100 g | 2 lbs 7 oz (wheat)
      Warranty
      6 years, non-commercial use
    2. KoMo Fidibus Classic Grain Mill

      Read from KoMo product page

      View KoMo Fidibus Classic at Pleasant Hill Grain
      Mechanism
      Stone burr; infinitely adjustable, self-sharpening, made of premium corundum ceramic
      Motor
      360 watts
      Hopper
      Approx. 1,000 g of wheat
      Warranty
      12 years on household grain mills
    3. Mockmill 200 Stone Grain Mill

      Read from Mockmill product page

      View Mockmill 200 at Mockmill USA
      Mechanism
      Corundum ceramic grinding stones
      Motor
      600 W
      Hopper
      1,100 g | 2 lbs 7 oz (wheat)
      Warranty
      6-year warranty for non-commercial use
    4. NutriMill Harvest Grain Mill

      Read from NutriMill product page · NutriMill technical illustration

      View NutriMill Harvest on Amazon
      Mechanism
      Corundum stone burrs, upper and lower
      Motor
      450 watts
      Hopper
      5 cups
      Warranty
      5 years against manufacturing defects in materials and workmanship
  3. Steel burr — the grain is ground between steel plates

    Three mills · one at 1,500 W, two with no motor of their own

    1. Country Living Grain Mill — this page

      Read from Country Living product page

      View Country Living Grain Mill on Amazon
      Mechanism
      Opposed burr plates — one fixed plate held by three screws, one rotating plate on the drive shaft, fed by an auger
      Motor
      —
      Hopper
      4 1/2 cups standard; nearly 11 cups with the optional hopper extension
      Warranty
      Lifetime of the original owner on all parts excluding the finish; grinding plates one year
    2. KitchenAid All Metal Grain Mill Attachment

      Read from Owner manual (PDF)

      View KitchenAid grain mill attachment on Amazon
      Mechanism
      Metal burr: a grind worm drives the grinding action and a movable burr grinds whole grains into flour
      Motor
      —
      Hopper
      —
      Warranty
      One-year full warranty from date of purchase with hassle-free replacement, for the 50 United States and the District of Columbia; limited one-year warranty in Puerto Rico
    3. VEVOR Electric Grain Mill Grinder MFS-140

      Read from Owner manual (PDF) · VEVOR product listing

      View VEVOR MFS-140 at VEVOR
      Mechanism
      One stationary and one moving grinding plate, supplied as a dry-grinding pair and a wet-grinding pair
      Motor
      1500 W
      Hopper
      —
      Warranty
      12-month standard manufacturer's warranty, from VEVOR's site-wide policy rather than the product listing

If this is not the mill

Three mills to read next, each with the first catalogue figure it prints differently from this one.

  • KitchenAid KGM metal grain mill attachment with a hopper and front adjustment dial

    KitchenAid All Metal Grain Mill Attachment

    Warranty, Country Living
    Lifetime of the original owner on all parts excluding the finish; grinding plates one year
    Warranty, KitchenAid attachment
    One-year full warranty from date of purchase with hassle-free replacement, for the 50 United States and the District of Columbia; limited one-year warranty in Puerto Rico
  • Blue VEVOR MFS-140 grain mill on its stand, corn in the stainless hopper

    VEVOR Electric Grain Mill Grinder MFS-140

    Warranty, Country Living
    Lifetime of the original owner on all parts excluding the finish; grinding plates one year
    Warranty, VEVOR MFS-140
    12-month standard manufacturer's warranty, from VEVOR's site-wide policy rather than the product listing
  • Mockmill 100 stone grain mill with a cream housing and green model label

    Mockmill 100 Stone Grain Mill

    Hopper capacity, Country Living
    4 1/2 cups standard; nearly 11 cups with the optional hopper extension
    Hopper capacity, Mockmill 100
    1,100 g | 2 lbs 7 oz (wheat)

The documents this page was read from

  1. Country Living Products — The Country Living Grain Mill product page
  2. Country Living Products — Country Living Grain Mill instruction manual
  3. Country Living Products — warranty and return policy
  4. Country Living Products — Motorizing Your Grain Mill
  5. Country Living Products — Motorization Kit for the Country Living Mill
  6. Country Living Products — 1/9 Horsepower Grain Mill Reduced Gear Motor
  7. Country Living Products — The Country Living Hopper Extension
  8. Country Living Products — High Impact Polymer Bin with Storage Lid
  9. Country Living Products — The Corn & Bean Large Auger
  10. Country Living Products — Peanut Butter+Plus accessory
  11. Country Living Products — A Look Inside: the grinding mechanism
  12. Country Living Products — homepage
  13. Country Living Products — labeled dimension drawing (product gallery image)
View Country Living Grain Mill on Amazonamazon.comSee specificationsCountry LivingCompare with the other eightthe nine-mill table

Prices and availability are on the seller’s site. Amazon links are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Other seller links are unpaid.

Publication
By Millwright
Source
Manufacturer documentation
Reviewed
Documented
8 of 10 attributespublished by the makerCounts published attributes, not quality.