Steel burr grain mills
A steel burr mill grinds between metal plates. This is the least uniform family in the catalogue: two of the three have no motor of their own, and the third is the heaviest machine here.
The three steel burr mills
Each card carries the figures its maker publishes and the one sentence its own documents support. Nothing here has been milled with.
Country Living
Country Living Grain Mill
Milling with the power off, or in a place where there is no outlet to plug a mill into at all.
- Hopper
- 4 1/2 cups standard; nearly 11 cups with the optional hopper extension
- Warranty
- Lifetime of the original owner on all parts excluding the finish; grinding plates one year
The published figures for the Country Living
View Country Living Grain Mill on AmazonKitchenAid
KitchenAid All Metal Grain Mill Attachment
A kitchen that already has a KitchenAid stand mixer standing on the counter.
- Warranty
- One-year full warranty from date of purchase with hassle-free replacement, for the 50 United States and the District of Columbia; limited one-year warranty in Puerto Rico
The published figures for the KitchenAid attachment
View KitchenAid grain mill attachment on AmazonVEVOR
VEVOR Electric Grain Mill Grinder MFS-140
Volume milling on a floor-standing machine, where a shorter warranty and a thinner specification sheet are acceptable.
- Motor
- 1500 W
- Warranty
- 12-month standard manufacturer's warranty, from VEVOR's site-wide policy rather than the product listing
The published figures for the VEVOR MFS-140
View VEVOR MFS-140 at VEVOR
Every published figure for these mills
The catalogue reduced to the steel burr family. Figures are printed in the unit each maker used and are not converted.
| Photograph | Mill | Mechanism | Motor | Hopper | Flour container | Weight | Warranty | Made in | Documented |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Steel burr — the grain is ground between steel platesThree mills · one at 1,500 W, two with no motor of their own | |||||||||
![]() | Country Living Grain MillRead from Country Living product pageView Country Living Grain Mill on Amazon | Opposed burr plates — one fixed plate held by three screws, one rotating plate on the drive shaft, fed by an auger | —3 | 4 1/2 cups standard; nearly 11 cups with the optional hopper extension | Not included; optional 8-cup polymer bin sold separately | 16 lbs in the store's weight field; whether that is net or packaged is not stated | Lifetime of the original owner on all parts excluding the finish; grinding plates one year5 | United States | 8 of 10 attributes8 |
![]() | KitchenAid All Metal Grain Mill AttachmentRead from Owner manual (PDF) · KitchenAid product pageView KitchenAid grain mill attachment on Amazon | Metal burr: a grind worm drives the grinding action and a movable burr grinds whole grains into flour | —3 | —7 | —7 | Gross weight 5.4 lbs; net weight published as 0 lbs, an evident placeholder6 | One-year full warranty from date of purchase with hassle-free replacement, for the 50 United States and the District of Columbia; limited one-year warranty in Puerto Rico | China, per KitchenAid's answer in the product page question-and-answer block rather than a specification field | 7 of 10 attributes8 |
![]() | VEVOR Electric Grain Mill Grinder MFS-140Read from Owner manual (PDF) · VEVOR product listingView VEVOR MFS-140 at VEVOR | One stationary and one moving grinding plate, supplied as a dry-grinding pair and a wet-grinding pair4 | 1500 W | —7 | —7 | 58.2 lb / 26.4 kg (net or shipping not stated)6 | 12-month standard manufacturer's warranty, from VEVOR's site-wide policy rather than the product listing | China | 5 of 10 attributes8 |
Steel burr — the grain is ground between steel plates
Three mills · one at 1,500 W, two with no motor of their own

Country Living Grain Mill
Read from Country Living product page
View Country Living Grain Mill on Amazon- Mechanism
- Opposed burr plates — one fixed plate held by three screws, one rotating plate on the drive shaft, fed by an auger
- Motor
- —3
- Hopper
- 4 1/2 cups standard; nearly 11 cups with the optional hopper extension
- Flour container
- Not included; optional 8-cup polymer bin sold separately
- Weight
- 16 lbs in the store's weight field; whether that is net or packaged is not stated
- Warranty
- Lifetime of the original owner on all parts excluding the finish; grinding plates one year5
- Made in
- United States
- Documented
- 8 of 10 attributes

KitchenAid All Metal Grain Mill Attachment
Read from Owner manual (PDF) · KitchenAid product page
View KitchenAid grain mill attachment on Amazon- Mechanism
- Metal burr: a grind worm drives the grinding action and a movable burr grinds whole grains into flour
- Motor
- —3
- Hopper
- —7
- Flour container
- —7
- Weight
- Gross weight 5.4 lbs; net weight published as 0 lbs, an evident placeholder6
- Warranty
- One-year full warranty from date of purchase with hassle-free replacement, for the 50 United States and the District of Columbia; limited one-year warranty in Puerto Rico
- Made in
- China, per KitchenAid's answer in the product page question-and-answer block rather than a specification field
- Documented
- 7 of 10 attributes

VEVOR Electric Grain Mill Grinder MFS-140
Read from Owner manual (PDF) · VEVOR product listing
View VEVOR MFS-140 at VEVOR- Mechanism
- One stationary and one moving grinding plate, supplied as a dry-grinding pair and a wet-grinding pair4
- Motor
- 1500 W
- Hopper
- —7
- Flour container
- —7
- Weight
- 58.2 lb / 26.4 kg (net or shipping not stated)6
- Warranty
- 12-month standard manufacturer's warranty, from VEVOR's site-wide policy rather than the product listing
- Made in
- China
- Documented
- 5 of 10 attributes
- Where two of a maker's own documents give different figures, both are printed and neither is reconciled. The ◆ marks the figure the second document gives.
- Mockmill 100 and Mockmill 200 print the same hopper capacity and the same housing material. Motor, milling rate and weight are what differ.
- Two mills have no motor of their own. The KitchenAid attachment runs off a stand mixer's power hub, mixer sold separately; the Country Living mill is hand-cranked.
- Mills are grouped by the mechanism their own documents describe, never by power. VEVOR's manual describes one stationary and one moving grinding plate, so it sits with the steel-burr mills at 1500 W.
- Warranty terms stated in years are printed in years. Three makers add a lifetime term for particular parts, and a lifetime has no length to compare.
- Weights are printed in the unit each maker publishes and are not converted. VEVOR does not state whether 58.2 lb is net or shipping; KitchenAid publishes a net weight of 0 lbs, an evident placeholder, so its gross weight is printed.
- Where a maker publishes nothing for an attribute the cell prints an em dash and the document that was read and did not carry it. An em dash is an absence, not a fault.
- Documented counts how many of ten attributes each maker publishes. It rates the paperwork, not the mill, and a fully documented mill is not a better mill.
- Each photograph is its maker's own, trimmed to the object, scaled inside one 672 px box and stood on one floor line. Two were cut out of composites: the WonderMill from a shot shared with bread loaves, and the VEVOR from a marketplace collage — its loose grain and beans were removed, the corn left in the hopper is the maker's own framing. The NutriMill Classic still carries the maker's grey studio backdrop; a re-cut was attempted twice and would have cut into the mill, so the plate is left as the maker published it.
- The documents each row was read from are named under the model name. The document behind each individual figure is printed beside that figure on the mill's own page.
Guides that work from these mills
Each guide answers one decision from the manuals, with two of these mills as its worked examples.
- Manual vs electric grain millsThe hand-cranked Country Living mill against the 1200-watt NutriMill Classic on effort, batch size, motorization, off-grid use and published evidence.
the grain is ground between steel plates.
Prices and availability are on the seller’s site. Amazon links are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Other seller links are unpaid.
- Publication
- By Millwright
- Source
- Manufacturer documentation
- Reviewed