Impact grain mills
An impact mill shatters grain against steel heads spinning at speed. There is no gap to set, and both mills here are the only two in the catalogue that ship a flour container with the machine.
The two impact mills
Each card carries the figures its maker publishes and the one sentence its own documents support. Nothing here has been milled with.
NutriMill
NutriMill Classic Grain Mill
A household milling a week of flour at a sitting, where the capacity of the hopper and the bowl decides the session.
- Motor
- 1200 W, 10 amps
- Hopper
- 12 cups
- Warranty
- 5 years parts and plastics; limited lifetime on motor and milling heads; original noncommercial purchaser only
The published figures for the NutriMill Classic
View NutriMill Classic on AmazonWonderMill
WonderMill Electric Grain Mill
A baker whose constraint is the clock, and who wants the fastest rate any maker in this set will print.
- Motor
- 1250 W LG Electronics motor (manufacturer states)
- Hopper
- 8 cups (wheat)
- Warranty
- Lifetime on milling heads to the original owner; six years on all other parts
The published figures for the WonderMill
View WonderMill Electric at Unsifted
Every published figure for these mills
The catalogue reduced to the impact family. Figures are printed in the unit each maker used and are not converted.
| Photograph | Mill | Mechanism | Motor | Hopper | Flour container | Weight | Warranty | Made in | Documented |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impact — the grain is shattered against steel heads, there is no gap to setTwo mills · 1,200 to 1,250 W | |||||||||
![]() | NutriMill Classic Grain MillRead from NutriMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)View NutriMill Classic on Amazon | High-speed impact chamber with stainless steel Microburst milling heads | 1200 W, 10 amps | 12 cups 13 cups1 | 20 cups 21 to 22 cups1 | 14 lbs | 5 years parts and plastics; limited lifetime on motor and milling heads; original noncommercial purchaser only5 | —7 | 9 of 10 attributes8 |
![]() | WonderMill Electric Grain MillRead from Pleasant Hill Grain dealer specifications · WonderMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)View WonderMill Electric at Unsifted | Impact; two fin-studded stainless steel plates, one rotating | 1250 W LG Electronics motor (manufacturer states) | 8 cups (wheat) | 12 cups of flour | 7.05 lb (a second authorized dealer prints 7-1/4 lb) | Lifetime on milling heads to the original owner; six years on all other parts5 | South Korea (dealer spec table; the manufacturer does not state it) | 9 of 10 attributes8 |
Impact — the grain is shattered against steel heads, there is no gap to set
Two mills · 1,200 to 1,250 W

NutriMill Classic Grain Mill
Read from NutriMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)
View NutriMill Classic on Amazon- Mechanism
- High-speed impact chamber with stainless steel Microburst milling heads
- Motor
- 1200 W, 10 amps
- Hopper
- 12 cups 13 cups1
- Flour container
- 20 cups 21 to 22 cups1
- Weight
- 14 lbs
- Warranty
- 5 years parts and plastics; limited lifetime on motor and milling heads; original noncommercial purchaser only5
- Made in
- —7
- Documented
- 9 of 10 attributes

WonderMill Electric Grain Mill
Read from Pleasant Hill Grain dealer specifications · WonderMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)
View WonderMill Electric at Unsifted- Mechanism
- Impact; two fin-studded stainless steel plates, one rotating
- Motor
- 1250 W LG Electronics motor (manufacturer states)
- Hopper
- 8 cups (wheat)
- Flour container
- 12 cups of flour
- Weight
- 7.05 lb (a second authorized dealer prints 7-1/4 lb)
- Warranty
- Lifetime on milling heads to the original owner; six years on all other parts5
- Made in
- South Korea (dealer spec table; the manufacturer does not state it)
- Documented
- 9 of 10 attributes
- Where two of a maker's own documents give different figures, both are printed and neither is reconciled. The ◆ marks the figure the second document gives.
- Mockmill 100 and Mockmill 200 print the same hopper capacity and the same housing material. Motor, milling rate and weight are what differ.
- Two mills have no motor of their own. The KitchenAid attachment runs off a stand mixer's power hub, mixer sold separately; the Country Living mill is hand-cranked.
- Mills are grouped by the mechanism their own documents describe, never by power. VEVOR's manual describes one stationary and one moving grinding plate, so it sits with the steel-burr mills at 1500 W.
- Warranty terms stated in years are printed in years. Three makers add a lifetime term for particular parts, and a lifetime has no length to compare.
- Weights are printed in the unit each maker publishes and are not converted. VEVOR does not state whether 58.2 lb is net or shipping; KitchenAid publishes a net weight of 0 lbs, an evident placeholder, so its gross weight is printed.
- Where a maker publishes nothing for an attribute the cell prints an em dash and the document that was read and did not carry it. An em dash is an absence, not a fault.
- Documented counts how many of ten attributes each maker publishes. It rates the paperwork, not the mill, and a fully documented mill is not a better mill.
- Each photograph is its maker's own, trimmed to the object, scaled inside one 672 px box and stood on one floor line. Two were cut out of composites: the WonderMill from a shot shared with bread loaves, and the VEVOR from a marketplace collage — its loose grain and beans were removed, the corn left in the hopper is the maker's own framing. The NutriMill Classic still carries the maker's grey studio backdrop; a re-cut was attempted twice and would have cut into the mill, so the plate is left as the maker published it.
- The documents each row was read from are named under the model name. The document behind each individual figure is printed beside that figure on the mill's own page.
One comparison inside this family
Two mills at a time, decided on the rows both makers print.
- NutriMill Classic vs WonderMillBoth mills shatter grain by impact, so the mechanism decides nothing. Ingredient scope, texture control, container capacity and documentation quality do.
Guides that work from these mills
Each guide answers one decision from the manuals, with two of these mills as its worked examples.
- How to mill your own flourWhat the NutriMill Classic and Mockmill 100 manuals instruct: loading the hopper, setting texture, running the batch, and cleaning afterwards.
- What you can and cannot millThe NutriMill Classic manual permits 31 items and excludes 17; the WonderMill manual permits 18 and excludes 9. Where they agree, and where they do not.
- Manual vs electric grain millsThe hand-cranked Country Living mill against the 1200-watt NutriMill Classic on effort, batch size, motorization, off-grid use and published evidence.
the grain is shattered against steel heads, there is no gap to set.
Prices and availability are on the seller’s site. Amazon links are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Other seller links are unpaid.
- Publication
- By Millwright
- Source
- Manufacturer documentation
- Reviewed