Nine home grain mills, sorted by what you mill
Answer three questions and the nine sort themselves by what their makers’ instructions say (for the KoMo, its US importer’s). A mill counts as a fit only where those instructions say so.
Find a mill for your kitchen
All 9 mills, in catalogue order: not a ranking.

Mockmill
Mockmill 100 Stone Grain Mill
Bakers making a few loaves a week who want stone-milled flour and adjust texture by feel rather than by setting.
- Stone burr
- 360 W motor
- 1,100 g hopper

KoMo
KoMo Fidibus Classic Grain Mill
A buyer who expects to keep the machine for decades and wants that expectation printed in the warranty.
- Stone burr
- 360 W motor
- Approx. 1,000 g hopper

Mockmill
Mockmill 200 Stone Grain Mill
The same stone milling as the Mockmill 100 for bakers whose batches are larger than one hopper at a time.
- Stone burr
- 600 W motor
- 1,100 g hopper

NutriMill
NutriMill Classic Grain Mill
A household milling a week of flour at a sitting, where the capacity of the hopper and the bowl decides the session.
- Impact
- 1,200 W motor
- 12-cup hopper

WonderMill
WonderMill Electric Grain Mill
A baker whose constraint is the clock, and who wants the fastest rate any maker in this set will print.
- Impact
- 1,250 W motor
- 8-cup hopper

NutriMill
NutriMill Harvest Grain Mill
A baker who wants stone burrs in a small footprint and is content to mill straight into a bowl they already own.
- Stone burr
- 450 W motor
- 5-cup hopper

Country Living
Country Living Grain Mill
Milling with the power off, or in a place where there is no outlet to plug a mill into at all.
- Hand-cranked steel burr mill
- 4½-cup hopper

KitchenAid
KitchenAid All Metal Grain Mill Attachment
A kitchen that already has a KitchenAid stand mixer standing on the counter.
- Stand-mixer attachment

VEVOR
VEVOR Electric Grain Mill Grinder MFS-140
Volume milling on a floor-standing machine, where a shorter warranty and a thinner specification sheet are acceptable.
- Steel burr
- 1,500 W motor
Amazon links are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Other seller links are unpaid.
Every mill in the catalogue, grouped by mechanism
| Photograph | Mill | Mechanism | Motor | Hopper | Flour container | Weight | Warranty | Made in | Documented |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Impact — the grain is shattered against steel heads, there is no gap to setTwo mills · 1,200 to 1,250 W | |||||||||
![]() | NutriMill Classic Grain MillRead from NutriMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)View NutriMill Classic on Amazon | High-speed impact chamber with stainless steel Microburst milling heads | 1200 W, 10 amps | 12 cups 13 cups1 | 20 cups 21 to 22 cups1 | 14 lbs | 5 years parts and plastics; limited lifetime on motor and milling heads; original noncommercial purchaser only5 | —7 | 9 of 10 attributes8 |
![]() | WonderMill Electric Grain MillRead from Pleasant Hill Grain dealer specifications · WonderMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)View WonderMill Electric at Unsifted | Impact; two fin-studded stainless steel plates, one rotating | 1250 W LG Electronics motor (manufacturer states) | 8 cups (wheat) | 12 cups of flour | 7.05 lb (a second authorized dealer prints 7-1/4 lb) | Lifetime on milling heads to the original owner; six years on all other parts5 | South Korea (dealer spec table; the manufacturer does not state it) | 9 of 10 attributes8 |
| Stone burr — the grain is ground between two corundum discs you can moveFour mills · 360 to 600 W | |||||||||
![]() | Mockmill 100 Stone Grain MillRead from Mockmill product pageView Mockmill 100 at Mockmill USA | Corundum ceramic grinding stones | 360 W | 1,100 g | 2 lbs 7 oz (wheat)2 | —7 | 6 kg | 13 lbs 3.5 oz | 6 years, non-commercial use | Germany | 10 of 10 attributes8 |
![]() | KoMo Fidibus Classic Grain MillRead from KoMo product page · Pleasant Hill Grain dealer specificationsView KoMo Fidibus Classic at Pleasant Hill Grain | Stone burr; infinitely adjustable, self-sharpening, made of premium corundum ceramic | 360 watts | Approx. 1,000 g of wheat | —7 | 8 kg | 12 years on household grain mills | Austria | 9 of 10 attributes8 |
![]() | Mockmill 200 Stone Grain MillRead from Mockmill product pageView Mockmill 200 at Mockmill USA | Corundum ceramic grinding stones | 600 W | 1,100 g | 2 lbs 7 oz (wheat)2 | —7 | 8.7 kg | 19 lbs 2.8 oz | 6-year warranty for non-commercial use | Germany | 9 of 10 attributes8 |
![]() | NutriMill Harvest Grain MillRead from NutriMill product page · NutriMill technical illustrationView NutriMill Harvest on Amazon | Corundum stone burrs, upper and lower | 450 watts | 5 cups | —7 | 16 lbs | 5 years against manufacturing defects in materials and workmanship | Designed and assembled in the USA | 9 of 10 attributes8 |
| Steel burr — the grain is ground between steel platesThree mills · one at 1,500 W, two with no motor of their own | |||||||||
![]() | Country Living Grain MillRead from Country Living product pageView Country Living Grain Mill on Amazon | Opposed burr plates — one fixed plate held by three screws, one rotating plate on the drive shaft, fed by an auger | —3 | 4 1/2 cups standard; nearly 11 cups with the optional hopper extension | Not included; optional 8-cup polymer bin sold separately | 16 lbs in the store's weight field; whether that is net or packaged is not stated | Lifetime of the original owner on all parts excluding the finish; grinding plates one year5 | United States | 8 of 10 attributes8 |
![]() | KitchenAid All Metal Grain Mill AttachmentRead from Owner manual (PDF) · KitchenAid product pageView KitchenAid grain mill attachment on Amazon | Metal burr: a grind worm drives the grinding action and a movable burr grinds whole grains into flour | —3 | —7 | —7 | Gross weight 5.4 lbs; net weight published as 0 lbs, an evident placeholder6 | One-year full warranty from date of purchase with hassle-free replacement, for the 50 United States and the District of Columbia; limited one-year warranty in Puerto Rico | China, per KitchenAid's answer in the product page question-and-answer block rather than a specification field | 7 of 10 attributes8 |
![]() | VEVOR Electric Grain Mill Grinder MFS-140Read from Owner manual (PDF) · VEVOR product listingView VEVOR MFS-140 at VEVOR | One stationary and one moving grinding plate, supplied as a dry-grinding pair and a wet-grinding pair4 | 1500 W | —7 | —7 | 58.2 lb / 26.4 kg (net or shipping not stated)6 | 12-month standard manufacturer's warranty, from VEVOR's site-wide policy rather than the product listing | China | 5 of 10 attributes8 |
Impact — the grain is shattered against steel heads, there is no gap to set
Two mills · 1,200 to 1,250 W

NutriMill Classic Grain Mill
Read from NutriMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)
View NutriMill Classic on Amazon- Mechanism
- High-speed impact chamber with stainless steel Microburst milling heads
- Motor
- 1200 W, 10 amps
- Hopper
- 12 cups 13 cups1
- Flour container
- 20 cups 21 to 22 cups1
- Weight
- 14 lbs
- Warranty
- 5 years parts and plastics; limited lifetime on motor and milling heads; original noncommercial purchaser only5
- Made in
- —7
- Documented
- 9 of 10 attributes

WonderMill Electric Grain Mill
Read from Pleasant Hill Grain dealer specifications · WonderMill product page · Owner manual (PDF)
View WonderMill Electric at Unsifted- Mechanism
- Impact; two fin-studded stainless steel plates, one rotating
- Motor
- 1250 W LG Electronics motor (manufacturer states)
- Hopper
- 8 cups (wheat)
- Flour container
- 12 cups of flour
- Weight
- 7.05 lb (a second authorized dealer prints 7-1/4 lb)
- Warranty
- Lifetime on milling heads to the original owner; six years on all other parts5
- Made in
- South Korea (dealer spec table; the manufacturer does not state it)
- Documented
- 9 of 10 attributes
Stone burr — the grain is ground between two corundum discs you can move
Four mills · 360 to 600 W

Mockmill 100 Stone Grain Mill
Read from Mockmill product page
View Mockmill 100 at Mockmill USA
KoMo Fidibus Classic Grain Mill
Read from KoMo product page · Pleasant Hill Grain dealer specifications
View KoMo Fidibus Classic at Pleasant Hill Grain- Mechanism
- Stone burr; infinitely adjustable, self-sharpening, made of premium corundum ceramic
- Motor
- 360 watts
- Hopper
- Approx. 1,000 g of wheat
- Flour container
- —7
- Weight
- 8 kg
- Warranty
- 12 years on household grain mills
- Made in
- Austria
- Documented
- 9 of 10 attributes

Mockmill 200 Stone Grain Mill
Read from Mockmill product page
View Mockmill 200 at Mockmill USA
NutriMill Harvest Grain Mill
Read from NutriMill product page · NutriMill technical illustration
View NutriMill Harvest on Amazon- Mechanism
- Corundum stone burrs, upper and lower
- Motor
- 450 watts
- Hopper
- 5 cups
- Flour container
- —7
- Weight
- 16 lbs
- Warranty
- 5 years against manufacturing defects in materials and workmanship
- Made in
- Designed and assembled in the USA
- Documented
- 9 of 10 attributes
Steel burr — the grain is ground between steel plates
Three mills · one at 1,500 W, two with no motor of their own

Country Living Grain Mill
Read from Country Living product page
View Country Living Grain Mill on Amazon- Mechanism
- Opposed burr plates — one fixed plate held by three screws, one rotating plate on the drive shaft, fed by an auger
- Motor
- —3
- Hopper
- 4 1/2 cups standard; nearly 11 cups with the optional hopper extension
- Flour container
- Not included; optional 8-cup polymer bin sold separately
- Weight
- 16 lbs in the store's weight field; whether that is net or packaged is not stated
- Warranty
- Lifetime of the original owner on all parts excluding the finish; grinding plates one year5
- Made in
- United States
- Documented
- 8 of 10 attributes

KitchenAid All Metal Grain Mill Attachment
Read from Owner manual (PDF) · KitchenAid product page
View KitchenAid grain mill attachment on Amazon- Mechanism
- Metal burr: a grind worm drives the grinding action and a movable burr grinds whole grains into flour
- Motor
- —3
- Hopper
- —7
- Flour container
- —7
- Weight
- Gross weight 5.4 lbs; net weight published as 0 lbs, an evident placeholder6
- Warranty
- One-year full warranty from date of purchase with hassle-free replacement, for the 50 United States and the District of Columbia; limited one-year warranty in Puerto Rico
- Made in
- China, per KitchenAid's answer in the product page question-and-answer block rather than a specification field
- Documented
- 7 of 10 attributes

VEVOR Electric Grain Mill Grinder MFS-140
Read from Owner manual (PDF) · VEVOR product listing
View VEVOR MFS-140 at VEVOR- Mechanism
- One stationary and one moving grinding plate, supplied as a dry-grinding pair and a wet-grinding pair4
- Motor
- 1500 W
- Hopper
- —7
- Flour container
- —7
- Weight
- 58.2 lb / 26.4 kg (net or shipping not stated)6
- Warranty
- 12-month standard manufacturer's warranty, from VEVOR's site-wide policy rather than the product listing
- Made in
- China
- Documented
- 5 of 10 attributes
- Where two of a maker's own documents give different figures, both are printed and neither is reconciled. The ◆ marks the figure the second document gives.
- Mockmill 100 and Mockmill 200 print the same hopper capacity and the same housing material. Motor, milling rate and weight are what differ.
- Two mills have no motor of their own. The KitchenAid attachment runs off a stand mixer's power hub, mixer sold separately; the Country Living mill is hand-cranked.
- Mills are grouped by the mechanism their own documents describe, never by power. VEVOR's manual describes one stationary and one moving grinding plate, so it sits with the steel-burr mills at 1500 W.
- Warranty terms stated in years are printed in years. Three makers add a lifetime term for particular parts, and a lifetime has no length to compare.
- Weights are printed in the unit each maker publishes and are not converted. VEVOR does not state whether 58.2 lb is net or shipping; KitchenAid publishes a net weight of 0 lbs, an evident placeholder, so its gross weight is printed.
- Where a maker publishes nothing for an attribute the cell prints an em dash and the document that was read and did not carry it. An em dash is an absence, not a fault.
- Documented counts how many of ten attributes each maker publishes. It rates the paperwork, not the mill, and a fully documented mill is not a better mill.
- Each photograph is its maker's own, trimmed to the object, scaled inside one 672 px box and stood on one floor line. Two were cut out of composites: the WonderMill from a shot shared with bread loaves, and the VEVOR from a marketplace collage — its loose grain and beans were removed, the corn left in the hopper is the maker's own framing. The NutriMill Classic still carries the maker's grey studio backdrop; a re-cut was attempted twice and would have cut into the mill, so the plate is left as the maker published it.
- The documents each row was read from are named under the model name. The document behind each individual figure is printed beside that figure on the mill's own page.
The four figures that separate these mills
Four build-time charts, each drawn only from the values in the table above. Where makers publish different units, the panels are split and nothing is converted.




Five figures you cannot compare across these mills
Five figures a buyer would use. No maker here prints two of them at all, and each of the other three is printed by one or two makers in a form nothing else can be set against. Each row says what the documents give instead.
A noise level in decibels
Printed by 1 of the 9, not comparably
Only KoMo's German product page prints one: about 70 dB for spelt at a fine setting, with no distance or method. VEVOR's manual says only to wear ear protectors, and the other seven print nothing, so loudness cannot be compared across the set. Impact against stone burr.
A flour temperature with its conditions
Printed by 2 of the 9, not comparably
Two makers print a figure: NutriMill about 118°F for the Classic, and WonderMill an average of about 115 degrees. Neither states a grain, a run length, a room temperature or a method, so the two cannot be set against each other. What changes in fresh-milled flour.
A moisture limit for milling
None of the 9 mills
Country Living's manual gives 10% or less moisture as storage guidance for grain, not as a limit for the mill. The others name ingredients instead: permitted lists, excluded lists, and in NutriMill's two manuals a quarter-cup test to run before committing a batch. What you can and cannot mill.
A fineness figure two mills share
Printed by 2 of the 9, not comparably
VEVOR prints 80 mesh for dry corn only, and KoMo prints finer than 0.3 mm under a measuring method it does not state. The other adjustable mills publish a lever scale or a knob face instead, so no two mills' finest settings can be set against each other. How to mill your own flour.
An energy figure in kilowatt-hours
None of the 9 mills
Rated wattage is what the makers publish, and a rating is not a measured draw. The motor-power chart on the homepage prints every rating and says so on its own face. How a specification gets onto this site.
Before you choose
The guides that settle the questions above in more depth, and how every figure on this page was checked.
- What you can and cannot millThe NutriMill Classic manual permits 31 items and excludes 17; the WonderMill manual permits 18 and excludes 9. Where they agree, and where they do not.
- Impact vs stone burr grain millsThe NutriMill Classic's impact chamber and the Mockmill 100's ceramic stones, compared on what each mechanism permits, adjusts, excludes and requires.
- How to mill your own flourWhat the NutriMill Classic and Mockmill 100 manuals instruct: loading the hopper, setting texture, running the batch, and cleaning afterwards.
- Manual vs electric grain millsThe hand-cranked Country Living mill against the 1200-watt NutriMill Classic on effort, batch size, motorization, off-grid use and published evidence.
- How a specification gets onto this siteWhere each figure comes from, how it is checked a second time, and what the site has not tested.
Prices and availability are on the seller’s site. Amazon links are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Other seller links are unpaid.
- Publication
- By Millwright
- Source
- Manufacturer documentation
- Reviewed